Switzerland

Standard

Sorry for the lack of posting – have been too busy!!  Anyway – what I’ve been up to since I last posted: I left London Heathrow Airport on Thursday afternoon and flew into Geneva. Was a very quick flight and I had no trouble getting through security and customs.  The flight was very pleasant – just read more Pride and Prejudice.  When I arrived at the airport I had to then catch a train to the centre of the city and then walk to the youth hostel I had booked.  (Definitely not as nice as the B&Bs I stayed at in the Cotswolds) 🙂 I knew that French was the main language spoken here in Switzerland but I think I was expecting more English everywhere … it was a challenge getting a train ticket and finding my hostel.  It was about 7pm by the time I checked in so walked around with a map and got some dinner. Had a mini catastrophe … realised that I had locked my suitcase for the flight but had put the key in a small bag which I usually have in my hand luggage but had put in my main luggage!!  Was so annoyed with myself – but luckily there was an outside zip which I could open and then cut the lining a little to get into the bag and pull out the key!  Won’t make that mistake again!

Friday … woke up early and started exploring Geneva.  The reception staff at the hostel were very nice about giving me directions and advice about how to get around, I walked down to the water and booked a tour train ride around the water which went through all the parks – extremely beautiful.  it had a commentary about what we saw etc.  Then went on another one which took me around all the international headquarter buildings for things like the United Nations (UN), the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), the World Health Organisation (WHO), the International Labour Organisation (ILO), and the High Commission for Refugees – so many big headquarters!!  Then I got off at the old town section of Geneva where I had lunch overlooking the lake.

 

And then I walked to the Cathedral where once again I was blown away by the beauty of the building and after climbing to the top loved the views of the city.

  

Got a boat back across the lake to where I was staying and picked up my luggage and walked to the train station where I caught a train to Lausanne (only took around 40mins) where I was met by David.  (Mum’s cousin – so my second cousin) and then waited for his parents who were visiting and staying with him at the same time.  We then went for a drive around for me to soak up the wonderful scenery – there are so many vineyards which look so amazing, all the green lines and split up by old rock walls.  We ended up at Grand Vaux – was unbelievable!!  There we had a drink and I absorbed the views.

  

Drove back to his house – is a beautiful place outside Lausanne in a small village and is a very nice drive through a forest.  Enjoyed a delicious BBQ for dinner.

2 responses »

    • Maybe we should diss her,
      Maybe we should kiss her,
      But now we have no Sarah
      Life is a little less fairer…
      So we very dearly miss her!

      P.S. not the best poem ever but made up on the spot with help from Kate Church and no help from Lisa

      P.P.S Lisa would like to add that she didn’t help not because she didn’t want to but because she is apparently no good at poems… 😦

      P.P.P.S. in case you don’t get it, we miss you very muchly around here ❤

Leave a Reply

