Stratford-upon-Avon Saturday 1st October

Standard

Went to Stratford-upon-Avon with the uni, they had arranged 3 buses to drop us off and pick us up again so we had the whole day to explore ourselves.  I wasn’t feeling too good (coming down with a cold) so the morning I walked around the old streets, saw Shakespeare’s birth place and  then his grave at the church. 

I then went to the Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre and they had ‘A Midsummer Nights Dream’ about to start so I managed to get a five pound ticket and snuck in just as it was starting.  I really really enjoyed the play, took me back to when we studied it at high school and when my school friends were in the drama club and performed it.  It was really funny and clever all the things they did with the simple stage.  It went for 3 hours (had my lunch outside by the river in the intermission which was lovely and sunny.  It was a really nice town – very Shakespeare crazy – everything was advertised as ‘shakespeare this’ or ‘poets that’ etc etc but just a really well kept, traditional town with beautiful tudor style houses everywhere.

Leave a Reply

