Class Field trip – Harewood House – 13th October

Standard

Today I had a class excursion to Harewood house!!  We caught a bus out together and spent the morning walking through the house.  Its still lived in by the Queen’s cousin and his family but the ground level which are all the state rooms are open for the public.  They also had the servants level which was half below ground level open so we could walk around it.  They made it more like an interactive display – putting out models of the food they would prepare and photos of everyday life there.  The gardens were beautiful – the terrace out the back of the house was so pretty and the veiws from the house were amazing!!  The bus left at 2pm but since I had nothing else on that day I stayed for a couple of hours by myself, looking around the grounds.  At Harewood they have a penguin enclosure and a bird avery with so many cool birds!!  I also spent longer in the house looking at all the old furniture and paintings.  A golf buggy drove me back along their extremely long driveway and I just caught a public bus back.  I had such a great day there and discovered that they used the house in ‘Lost in Austen’ as Pemberly!!  Here are a few photos from the day:

   

One response »

  1. Oh Francie!! As soon as I saw the pic of the house, I knew it was Pemberly!!! Did you reenact scenes from the movie?? I am so jealous!!

Leave a Reply

